Boards and Commissions

In a city commission government, voters elect a small commission, typically from five to seven members. These commissioners constitute the legislative body of the city and as a group are responsible for taxation, appropriations, ordinances, and other general functions. Individual commissioners are assigned responsibility for a specific aspect of municipal affairs, such as public works, finance, or public safety. One commissioner is designated to function as chairman or mayor, but this is largely a procedural or ceremonial designation and typically does not involve significant additional powers beyond that exercised by the other commissioners. As such, this form of government blends legislative and executive branch functions in the same body.

Commission Requirements

  • You must be a qualified voter.
  • You Must be a citizen of the US and an inhabitant and resident of the City for one year next preceding his or her appointment, and a resident, at the time he or she files and during the time he or she serves.
  • All citizen members of a Commission shall serve without compensation.
  • Members must attend all regularly scheduled meetings except in case of a serious illness, an extenuating circumstance or a death in the family as defined in the personnel manual.
  • You must submit a completed application supplied by the office of the City Clerk.

Board and Commissions Application